When you have a few cherry tomatoes and a little Parmesan left… Crochetta!

I’m not sure if any of you out there comes across this situation, but I tend to have leftover grated cheese that’s not enough to be used in my dishes and yet, quite a substantial amount is left that I do not want to waste it. While thinking what I should do with the packet of cheese in my hand, I opened the fridge and stared at the 3 cherry tomatoes in its container. I thought to myself, what can I make with cheese and tomatoes… And as I was wondering, I remembered that I have a plain croissant.

Yes. What I’m thinking of is to make Bruschetta with croissant instead of baguette. I find baguette too hard and I wondered if croissant will make a good substitute instead. Deciding that it won’t do any harm, I chopped my tomatoes into tiny cubes, grind some black pepper and salt into the tomatoes, and toss them together. I slather the tomato mix onto the croissant that I cut in half and sprinkled the Parmesan cheese on it. Then I put it in a toaster. Since I have no idea how long it will take for the cheese to melt, I set the timer for 15 minutes but I checked the toaster every other minute. What came out is this…

Croissant Bruschetta = Crochetta?

Croissant Bruschetta = Crochetta?

The croissant was crispy and soft, combined with the sour taste of the tomatoes, the slight spice from the pepper and the chewiness from the cheese, it was one superb Crochetta!

My mother was singing praises.

Leave a Reply

